NCAA TOURNAMENT… news and notes

ncaa-basketball-logo1

After today there will be 4 total teams in the field of 65.  Cornell is already in from the IVY LEAGUE.  The Big South, The Atlantic Sun, and The Ohio Valley play there championships today.  

big-south

 

The Big South is between VMI and Radford.  We all know about VMI.  They put up tons of points and beat Kentucky.  I hope VMI wins, not only will it make UK look a little better, but I have been a fan of the Keydets for about 5 years or so.  I am Facebook friends with many of their current and former players, and Chavis, I’m still waiting on those shorts you told me you would hook me up with.  These two teams split in the regular season, but I am going to go with VMI over Radford 101-89.  Wish I could attend that game, should be a fun one.

 

atlanticsunThe Atlantic Sun is between Jacksonville and East Tennessee State.  I have been lucky enough to live in Nashville during the past few months so I have been at Allen Arena on Lipscomb’s Campus for the first two rounds.  I watched the Lipscomb/Campbell game from center court, 4th row.  I watched Belmont vs. ETSU from row 20.  Then I watch the Lipscomb/Jacksonville Game from the 1st row, right behind the scorers table.  I was pumped because I got to watch some of my Invisible Assassins (Part 2) in person for the first time.  I missed the Mercer game, so I didn’t get to see James Florence.  However, I did see Jonathan Rodriguez, a 1st team IA’s (Invisible Assassins) member.  His Campbell team was horrible.  He was their only player and Lipscomb shut him down.  He could never get any touches, and didn’t look to good.  I also got to see Courtney Pigram for ETSU, a Honorable Mention IA.  First things first, Pigram is better than just a Honorable Mention.  He is a big time player.  I think he had 30 in the semi-final game over Belmont.  Just sick.  Has range for days.  I also got to see players that were not IA’s, but very well could have been.  The main ones are Belmont’s Alex Renfroe (A-Sun POY), Kevin Tiggs of ETSU (Teams Leading Scorer), and the next two are just Sophomores with room to grow, Lipscomb’s Adnan Hodzic and Josh Slater.  But anyway, tonights game is on ESPN 2, I suggest you watch it and look out for Tiggs and Pigram of ETSU and Ben Smith from Jacksonville.  I’m going with ETSU tonight in a tight one, 85-82.  

 

ohiovalley

 

The Ohio Valley is a disappointment already.  First my Alma Mater, EKU, got murdered in the first round and then the 2nd leading scorer in the nation and 2nd All- IA member, Lester Hudson and his UT-Martin Skyhawks got upset last night.  The reason that is an disapointment is because I have Box Seats tonight for the OVC Championship at the Sommet Center in Nashville.  I was looking forward to seeing Hudson in action, but not now.  So this game is between Austin Peay and Morehead State.  I have to be honest, I know nothing about these two teams.  But I am going to pick Austin Peay because they are the 2 seed and they have a guy named Drake Reed who averages 22 points and 8 boards.  Morehead beat Peay in both meetings this year, but I am saying Peay 79-72.

 

 

I will make my 1st and 2nd Team All-IA sometime this week.  We will see how I did compared to my pre-season picks.

Leave a Reply

